More about the SDIPLA

If you have any questions about SDIPLA please contact one of our current officers.
If you have any concerns about this website, please contact Jo Dale Carothers.

Meet Our Current Officers


Justin Gray | 858.252.2834 |
Partner, Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP

Justin Gray advises clients on intellectual property and complex litigation matters with a focus on computer software and hardware, medical devices, and telecommunications. He regularly counsels clients in federal courts across the country on cases involving patent infringement, trade secret protection, and copyright infringement.

Mr. Gray also is a charter member of the Richard Linn American Inn of Court. He has served as an adjunct professor at the Northwestern University School of Law, where he taught patent law. Mr. Gray is also the creator and sole author of Gray of Claims, a blog devoted to exploring patent claim construction and related issues.


Nathanael R. Luman, Ph.D. | 858.707.4000 |
Partner, Knobbe Martens LLP.

Nathanael R. Luman, Ph.D., is a partner in the San Diego offices of Knobbe Martens LLP.  Nate represents chemical and pharmaceutical companies in intellectual property matters. He is actively involved in Inter Partes Review (IPR) proceedings before the Patent Trial and Appeal Board.  In addition, he has litigated cases under the Hatch-Waxman Act and counseled generic pharmaceutical companies with respect to the Abbreviated New Drug Application (ANDA) process.

Nate develops patent portfolios for companies.  His expertise includes strategic patent procurement, analyzing third-party patents, conducting due diligence studies, and preparing opinions on patent validity and freedom-to-operate issues. In 2012, Nate served as a law clerk to the Honorable Marilyn L. Huff of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of California. He worked on numerous patent litigation cases during his clerkship. He is admitted to the State Bar of California and registered to practice before the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. He received his law degree, with honors, from the University of San Diego School of Law.

Nate earned his doctoral degree in chemistry from Boston University, where his work involved the synthesis and characterization of biodegradable molecules and macromolecules. His research has been published in a variety of scientific journals, including The Journal of the American Chemical Society, Organic Letters, and Pure & Applied Chemistry.


Bruce Greenhaus,

Bruce W. Greenhaus |
Partner with Jaquez Land Greenhaus LLP

Bruce is a founding partner of the patent law firm of Jaquez Land Greenhaus LLP. The firm is a full-service IP firm with three partners, each having over 28 years of experience in all aspects of IP law, specializing in prosecution, licensing and litigation support related to electrical patents.

He was formerly with Qualcomm for 10 years, the last five as Vice President, Patent Counsel. I have been practicing patent law in San Diego since 1991 as an associate with the law firm of Spensley Horn Jubas & Lubitz and then in 1995, with the firm of Baker, Maxham, Jester, & Meador.

He was Vice President, Chief Patent Counsel at Entropic Communications, Inc, where he worked from Dec. of 2007 until joining forces with Marty Jaquez and John Land, my former associates at Spensley Horn. He has been an adjunct professor with Thomas Jefferson School of Law (TJLS). At TJLS, he taught patent law classes on claim drafting, litigation, and claim interpretation.

He was Co-Chair of the CommNexus Intellectual Property Special Interest Group (IP SIG) and a member of the San Diego Intellectual Property Law Association (SDIPLA). He is a past president of the SDIPLA, where he spent five years on the Board.


John R. Lanhan. | 858.314.7601 |
Associate, Morrison & Foerster, LLP

John Lanham is an associate in the firm’s Intellectual Property Group. Mr. Lanham focuses his practice on intellectual property litigation and commercial litigation. Mr. Lanham brings his broad-based business litigation experience to bear on his clients’ most challenging disputes.

Mr. Lanham has worked in both the San Diego and Denver offices of Morrison & Foerster. He has represented clients in the pharmaceutical, financial, communications, information technology, natural resources, and healthcare industries. Mr. Lanham regularly assists clients with all phases of litigation, including development of case strategy, dispositive motions, claim construction, fact discovery, expert discovery, trial preparation, alternative dispute resolution, and taking and defending the depositions of both fact and expert witnesses. Mr. Lanham frequently works with scientific and economic experts to develop accurate and persuasive case theories for his clients. He also maintains an active pro bono practice focused on children’s rights and constitutional issues.



Desmond O’Sullivan | 858.314.7794 |
Of Counsel, Morrison & Foerster, LLP

Desmond O’Sullivan is an associate in the Intellectual Property Group of Morrison & Foerster’s San Diego office. Mr. O’Sullivan assists clients in procuring patents before the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (PTO), litigating patents before U.S. district courts, defending and attacking patents before the Patent Trial and Appeals Board, and evaluating patents and other intellectual property in corporate transactions. Mr. O’Sullivan’s clients include multinational, domestic, and startup companies providing solutions in telecommunications, alternative energy, aviation, engines, consumer electronics, laser systems, semiconductors, codecs, and medical devices.

Mr. O’Sullivan received his J.D. from Hastings College of the Law, where he was an articles editor for the Hastings Law Journal and served as a judicial extern for the Honorable Vaughn R. Walker of the Northern District of California. Mr. O’Sullivan received his B.Sc. in mathematics and applied mathematics from University College Cork in Cork, Ireland. He received his M.S.E. in engineering sciences from the University of California, San Diego, where he focused on aerospace and mechanical engineering.

The SDIPLA Past Presidents

Everett N. Curtis (1956-57)
Walter J. Jason (1957-58)
Egon W. Mueller (1958-59)
Warren H.F. Schmieding (1959-60)
George E Pearson (1960-61)
Roy L. Knox (1961-62)
Carl R. Brown (1962-63)
Earl F. Karts (1963-64)
Vincent E. Sullivan (1964-65)
George E. Pearson (1965-66)
Carl R. Brown (1966-67)
J. Peter Mohn (1967-68)
Nell F. Martin (1968-69)
Thomas G. Keough (1969-70)
Thomas D. Lane (1970-71)
John R. Duncan (1971-72)
George J. Rubens (1972-73)
Frank D. Gilliam (1973-74)
Patrick J. Schlesinger (1974-75)
Ralph S. Branscomb(1975-76)
Charles C. Logan (1976-77)
Nell F. Martin (1977-78)
Henri J.A Charmasson (1978-79)
John L. Haller (1979-80)
Edward W. Callan (1980-81)
Mervyn L. Young (1981)
Freling E. Baker (1981-82)
Charles Fassbender (1983-84)
Michael H. Jester (1984-85)
Natalie Jensen (1985-86)
Lawrence A. Maxham (1986-87)
John R. Lindsay (1987-88)

R. Ben Miller (1988-89)
J.F. McLellan (1989-90)
John R. Ross. Jr. (1990-91)
Jim McClain (1991-92)
April Logan (1992-93)
Nancy Dahl (1993-94)
Anita M. Kirkpatrick (1994-95)
Kathleen A. Pasulka (1995-96)
Laurie A. Axford (1996-97)
Lisa Haile (1997-98)
Susan Perkins (1998)
Lisa Haile (1999)
Bruce Greenhaus (1999-2000)
Stephen Korniczky (2000-01)
Sam Talpalatsky (2001-02)
Richard Kim (2002-03)
Mark D. Wieczorek (2003-04)
Vicki G. Norton (2004-05)
Kent M. Walker (2005-06)
Robert Prince (2006-07)
Tom Coverstone (2007-08)
Boris Zelkind (2008-09)
Jessica S. Mitchell (2009-10)
John E. Peterson, PhD (2010-11)
Kenneth Jenkins, Ph.D. (2011-2012)
Kurt Kjelland (2012-2103)
Marc Morley (2013-2014)
JoDale Carothers (2014-2015)
Les Overman (2015-2016)
Shawn McDonald (2016-2017)
Rose Thiessen (2017-2018)
Bernard J. Greenspan (2018-2019)
Desmond O’Sullivan (2018-2019)